Vigorous Anonymity

The Spirit of Not Giving

Posted on: December 24, 2012

My husband has two grown children (son – 40, daughter – 37), who are both married with children.  They have successful careers and families and houses.  And of course, their children are my husband’s grandkids.

There’s a long and tragic history here.  Jackass and I got together when those kids were 10 and 7.  But we have never had a relationship of any kind.  They introduce me to people as their “father’s wife”.  And their children don’t know what to call me although the oldest finally started calling me Candy recently.  More upsetting to me is that they have never tried to have a relationship with Ingrid and Morris.  My kids could have benefited from the family interaction, but the older set didn’t want to reach out and so that never happened either.  At the moment, we all just sort of coexist, all circling Jackass, the sun.  None of us like it, except for Jackass who remains convinced we are all one big happy family.

To set the following story in its proper context, I must also tell you my stepdaughter and her husband are into extreme couponing.  They have an entire basement lined with shelves where they store their loot – all the stuff they don’t necessarily need but buy because it’s on sale, and they essentially get it for next to nothing.  They have boxes upon boxes of men’s deodorant, disposable razors, toothbrushes and air fresheners, just to name a few.

Saturday, we had a Christmas brunch with them.  They were many many gifts exchanged – at least from our side.  Generous gift cards for Jackass’ kids, multiple gifts for the grandkids.  Some serious booty.

From the other side, the following gifts were distributed:

For me:  a Glade air freshener

For Ingrid:  a disposable razor

For Morris:  a deodorant

For Jackass (their father):  a toothbrush

If it wasn’t so sad, it would be hysterical.

1 Response to "The Spirit of Not Giving"

Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I’m sure you won’t miss it!

Leave a Reply

    • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
    • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
    • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

