Vigorous Anonymity

50 Concerts – ok maybe 17

Posted on: August 19, 2009

There’s a note making the rounds on Facebook, and at least 4 of my friends have tagged me to do it.  (If you don’t have Facebook, a note is the same as a meme.)  I keep ignoring their tags, and they keep tagging me anyway.  Because seriously, after my confession of how uncool I was yesterday, my list of 50 concerts is even worse.  Sad, in fact.

I have never really been a concert-goer.  My parents wouldn’t let me go see Elton John when I was a teenager, and by the time I was old enough to go, Elton wasn’t really performing anymore and I didn’t really want to see any one else, so I lost interest.

The first concert I ever went to was…REO Speedwagon.  Because you can tune a piano, but you can’t tuna fish.  And it was FUN!  But also?  It was annoying and smoky and loud and I couldn’t see very well and the music didn’t sound like it did on the record.  And that was the start of it all.  I’m not a concert-goer.

I have compiled my list, but I’m not posting it in response to the tag on Facebook.  Because it is just so very sad and embarrassing.  But I can show you guys.  You won’t judge.  OK maybe you will but I know you won’t poke fun.  Ok maybe you will but I know you’ll forgive me.  And probably tell me about your worst concert ever, too.  Right?

  1. REO Speedwagon
  2. Frankie Valli – saw him at the Playboy Club in Great Gorge, NJ
  3. Regis & Kathie Lee – They count!  I didn’t buy the tickets.  I just got dragged along.
  4. Elton John – FINALLY!
  5. Billy Joel – with Elton John…best concert ever
  6. Men at Work
  7. Fleetwood Mac – multiple times, but the last time was when Jackass sacrified a knee for my virtue.  A fight ensued.  We were kicked out of the Meadlowlands.  Good times.
  8. Stevie Nicks
  9. Dan Fogelberg
  10. Alanis Morrissette – almost got into another fight.  Jackass wasn’t with me, so it was proof that I’m the problem, not him.
  11. Garbage
  12. The Pretenders
  13. The B52s
  14. Keane
  15. Jimmy Buffet
  16. Johnny River – oh what a story this is.  But I don’t know if I can do it justice.
  17. Twisted Sister – they used to perform before they were famous at a little club that I got drunk in when I was 19.  So that counts too, right?

So how sad is that?  17 concerts in 48 years.  I should have my card revoked or something.

4 Responses to "50 Concerts – ok maybe 17"

My first concert was New Kids on the Block. That’s just sad.

I don’t think I’ve even been to 17 concerts. I’m not a concert goer either. Unless you count going to street fests and watching cover bands play as concerts.

Lol, you have me beat unless you count seeing the same band multiple times. Course the last concert I went to 8 years ago i realized I was getting to old for concerts, that or there needs to be a old fogies section with no smoking, no standing, and no young-en’s.

Course my best concerts have got to be the new years eve shows I went to, they all tended to be extra long to play till midnight then the encore after midnight. Still have a couple of concerts I want to goto just to say I seen them live. Like GWAR.

I gave up concerts after being thrown up on one too many times by some CHILD in the audience.

Ahem.

My favorite concerts have been Dave Matthews Band…over and over again. And Sting. And Barenaked Ladies.

My least favorite concert was when I saw Aerosmith on the fourth of July and a bunch of asshats were setting off fireworks in the stadium or throwing lit sparklers/smoke bombs, etc out over the crowd. It was skeerrry.

I am posting mine tomorrow. You still have me beat.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
