Vigorous Anonymity

Yeah, nothing.

Posted on: October 14, 2009

I hate it when I can’t think of anything to write about.  Hate. It.  I know stuff has happened.  Hell, I don’t live in a vacuum.  Now that I think about it, vacuum is neither a noun nor a verb in my life, as evidenced by the amount of cat hair accumulating on my carpet.

The lack of meaty topic leaves me with but one choice:  BULLETS!

  • My daughter has been home from college once since August 30th.  ONCE!  And she brought her roommate home with her.  And when she went back to school after that weekend she said, “Is it ok if I don’t come home again until Thanksgiving?”  IS IT OK???  After I finished tap dancing across the kitchen (ignoring the crunching sound of kitty kibble under my feet because…again…no vacuuming), I said “Of course it’s ok.”  And then I took over her bedroom and began redecorating.
  • Despite everything I read that says 17-year old children should not get a car on their birthday, my son is determined and adamant.  He does not find me funny when I tell him we will start shopping for a car sometime in the Spring (his birthday is in December).  I should add he has saved his own money for this purchase, which I have agreed to match, so I feel sort of lame telling him he can’t have the car he’s been saving for for 2 years.
  • I bought a new video game yesterday and it took me four hours to load it on my computer because it seems in addition to said video game, one must also have accounts with two, seemingly-unrelated websites (Steam and Windows Games Live or something like that) and both of them needed to be downloaded, and then updated, and then redownloaded and then blah blah blah.  By the time I finished all the loading I was too tired to play the game so I just went to bed.
  • Today, one of my supervisors sent me an email asking me if I wanted to add anything to a form she is creating which I will basically be the only one using.  So I sent her an email saying we should add “X” and I got back an email saying that was too complicated.  And I send another email saying we probably also need “Y” and got back another email saying we would do that on a case by case basis.  And then I sent her a third email asking her why she bothered asking me for my input.  I put a smiley face at the end of that sentence, but I’m thinking I may have stepped over the line anyway.
  • My hair is too short and it’s making me unhappy.
  • It will grow, but I can tell by the way that it was cut it will only get poofy, not longer.
  • There is a Halloween store that only opens up seasonally in a vacant store in a strip mall near work.  Right next to that is a season Christmas decoration store.  Am I the only one who finds this offensive?

OK, I got nothing else.  Something needs to happen to me soon.  Or not.

7 Responses to "Yeah, nothing."

I think that’s the theme today: I don’t got shit.

(to write about)….

I’m so glad your daughter is loving school now and LIKES being there! I told you so!

Now, did you call the dentist today?

I envy you your daughter being away at school. I love my TJ, but I feel like I’m living in a frat house half the time. The kids a slob, in and out at all hours and this morning I went to pack a lunch and the half a sandwich I planned on taking was gone.

I have a few more years of this too 😦

One delay tactic on the car is to tell him he has to pay his own insurance.

We all step over the line somedays. Today was your day, I’m sure tomorrow (with the shit I have going on already) will be mine.

Oh, and did you call the dentist?

I got SweetieDarling her car at 17. Four tickets later, she had to start paying her own insurance. She hasn’t gotten a ticket since. Imagine that!

My dad bought me a car after I graduated high school. Luckily, I graduated early… 🙂
but that was the rule for my older sister’s too.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
