Vigorous Anonymity

My Apologies, and you know why.

Posted on: October 22, 2009

Today I got a chain letter in the mail from my direct supervisor at work.  It’s one of those recipe exchange things, like the cookie recipe or the dishtowel thing, where you’re supposed to send it to 20 friends, and add your name to the bottom of the list, and eventually you’ll get 180 dishtowels.  Or something.

Anyway, my boss sent it to me.  She was the second person on the list, so if I hadn’t sent it out, she wouldn’t have gotten any recipes.  And she would have known I was the problem. SO I HAD NO CHOICE!

But the damned thing was supposed to be sent to 20 PEOPLE!  20!!!  Dudes, I don’t know 20 women’s emails off the top of my head…most people correspond through Facebook these days and their emails aren’t glaringly obvious anymore.  Besides that, I DON’T HAVE 20 FRIENDS!  Seriously…I really don’t know 20 women in real life that I could send that to.

Because she’s my boss, she’d already sent it to all the people we work with and are friendly enough with that they won’t be offended.  So I had to come up with 20 real people not connected through work.

I got to about 13 and then I was just stumped.  And so I did it.  I added the names of my blog friends.  I’M SO ASHAMED.

I hope you’ll forgive me, but this was job preservation at it’s most basic.

6 Responses to "My Apologies, and you know why."

Not a problem LOL I’ll send one out later.

Tho I don’t even know 20 blog-friends… so the recipes you get may be slim pickings!

Lol I’m sure its lost amongst the 326 spam messages I saw sitting unread in my spam folder today. So I promise to take it easy and blast you with both barrels for spamming me since you already apologized.

I’ll send her a fucking recipe. But i can’t say how GOOD it will be.

🙂

I did this many years ago, via the US Postal Mail and I got recipes from all over the joint, it was kinda fun.

I’ll send a recipe soon, first I have to think of what one, THEN I have to figure out 20 people to send it to who like me enough to feel obligated to do it!

It’s like a pampered chef party….you HAVE to go if invited!

I sent her one, but the chain died because I don’t need any more recipes. Because I have the internet and can Google them when needed.

I hope she likes my Chicken Tortilla Soup!

I sent her one. And then I killed the chain, too. 😉

Leave a comment


  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE