Vigorous Anonymity

Classmates??

Posted on: October 27, 2009

This year is my 30th high school reunion.  Gad.

I went to my 25th with my bff from high school, Cheryl.  But she lives in squallor in upper New York state and I don’t think she can afford the gas to come down this year.  Which is frankly just as well, because opening the door to that friendship was like opening Pandora’s Box.  Cheryl and I hadn’t spoken in years before the reunion, and afterwards she called me every 2 days to tell me how much she hated her husband, how much her friggin’ kids were driving her crazy, and how hot her new lover was.

So you’ll forgive me if I don’t want to revisit that.

I’ve decided I’m not attending my 30th.  I just saw these people 5 years ago, and honestly, with the exception of the guy who hugged me like he should have hugged me in 1979, I don’t really want to see any of those people again so soon.

But I did sign up for Classmates a while back, and because the reunion is looming, every day I get another email telling me “so and so” has joined Classmates, and sent you a message and blah blah blah.

Dudes?  I have no idea who these people are.  So far I’ve gotten 47 emails about people joining Classmates from the class of ’79 and not a single one of them rings a bell.  I know I wasn’t a “cool kid” in high school, but I would have said back then I knew who every one of my classmates was.  Apparently, I was wrong.

It leaves me with only one question left to ask.  Who are these people?

3 Responses to "Classmates??"

Stalkers. The entire internet figured it out and want to leave you messages. Mostly the question they want to ask is “Have you been to the dentist yet?”

🙂

Dude, when I graduated in a class of 700 people, I knew EVERY name. Now my friends are like “remember so and so? She was in band with us? YOU TALKED TO HER EVERY DAY?” And I’m like “I HAVE NO CLUE WHO THAT PERSON IS!”

Apparently Dooce just took over my comments.

Wild horses couldn’t drag me to a high school reunion.

Facebook keeps asking me to “friend” people from high school. I don’t know who ANY of them are.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
