Vigorous Anonymity

Awesomeness Fail

Posted on: January 5, 2010

I said I was going to post more in 2010 and I’m already screwing that up.  This is why I don’t make New Year’s resolutions.

Seriously though, I have a head cold.  And while I am the same time praising my own foresight for having gotten a flu shot last month, and the fact that this does not indeed seem to be the flu, I still have a head cold.  And it’s beating the shit out of me.

Last night, in desperation, I took two Mucinex in an attempt to clear up my sinuses.  An hour later, I still couldn’t breathe.

So, I pulled my neti pot out of the cabinet and found the salt for it.  I mixed the warm water with the salt and applied same to the right nostril, praying that the water would actually flow out the left nostril (even though I hadn’t been able to breathe through it in six hours) and not, as I was fearing, drown me instead.  Success!  Somehow the water worked its way through a sea of congestion that air could not penetrate.  Repeat opposite nostrils…again success!  In 20 minutes I was breathing like…a person who can breathe!

Then at 10:30 I took some crack (some call it NyQuil) and went to bed, hoping to wake in the morning to bluebirds and sunshine.

Instead, I woke up at 1AM, jittery, congested and with a song in my head that right now I can’t remember.  Fucking ear worms.  I guess the Mucinex and the NyQuil don’t like each other, and started a war in my brain.

I was up until about 5:30 when, magically, my left sinus opened and sweet air flowed in freely.  I fell asleep for the remaining 75 minutes of my night, and got up at 6:45, still congestion free.  I took a shower, and then, because I was so impressed with what the neti pot had accomplished, I rinsed again.

My left sinus immediately closed up and has been that way ever since.  I hate to declare defeat, but I think I’m giving neti a funeral tonight.

3 Responses to "Awesomeness Fail"

Ugh..nothing worse than a head cold. I hope it clears up soon!

Yucky, yucky. Get well soon. I won’t even tease you about the you-know-what

I have the Neti sinus rinse thingy. And I was like you “yay! I can breathe!” And then like 2 days later, I had the WORST post-nasal drip I’ve ever had. Like I was CHOKING on it. (Yes, TMI.)

So I stopped using it. Even though they SAY it is for post nasal drip, it made mine worse.I stick to Sudafed.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
