Vigorous Anonymity

Will My Hands Ne’er Be Clean?

Posted on: January 20, 2010

Sigh…I wrote a post that disappeared and I don’t even remember what I wrote about.  That’s pretty sad.

So you know I don’t talk about work much around here (are you listening Kristin?) but there’s some stuff going on and I’m unsettled about it.

Friday night, my friend, She Who Reads This Blog (SWRTB), and I went out after work for drinks and for the first time ever, we were joined by the Vice President of another department and his staff of salesmen.  These guys are the “cool kids”, the ones you WANT to go out for drinks with.  They’re young, fun and irreverent and I adore them.  I’ve always thought I belonged in that department and not the one I’m in because I spoke their language.  But alas, I am stuck in Legal…yawwwwwn…

Anyway…the VP eventually works his way over to me and very matter-of-factly tells me to be prepared, because he’s planning to swap his assistant out for me.  And then my brain exploded.

I had already had two glasses of wine at this point, and was working on my third, so I’m a little twitchy about the details, but he and his assistant have been at odds for some time now.  Last week he asked me if I would be her back-up because she’s been taking a lot of time off and leaving them unsupported.  I guess that was the precursor to this.

So I’m excited about the prospect and the possibility and terrified about the implications.  First, I don’t know how I feel about getting a job at someone else’s expense.  I mean, his assistant and I are office friends.  We chat at the water cooler.  She complains about her bosses to me.  And I now know that her boss is planning to get rid of her, and I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do with that.  If the situation was reversed I’d want her to tell me so I could get my ducks in a row.  But I’m at a loss.

SWRTB tells me to “go to the mattresses.”  It’s business, not pleasure.  And I mostly agree…but part of me feels icky.

What do you think?

5 Responses to "Will My Hands Ne’er Be Clean?"

Honestly, if it were me I’d keep my mouth shut. For one, things could change. For another, mentioning something to her now might make it seem to her like you were in on something she wasn’t privy to and the whole office was conspiring against her.

If what you say is true, and her and her boss have really been at odds and she’s become unreliable by leaving them unsupported then what they have to tell her shouldn’t really come as a surprise. And in some ways might be a relief because it frees her up to find something she’s not miserable doing.

That’s just my two cents. Best of luck!!

She is suffering the consequences of her behavior. You did nothing to her.

If you had conspired behind her back to get her job, then that would be one thing, but you did not.

You are clean. This is business.

You didn’t DO anything to take her job. The reason she is losing her job is because of stuff she did. You didn’t go out of your way to seek her position.

Yeah, it sucks. But you’re not a fault. And it sounds like this will be a good move for you!

I understand how you feel though. When I was at my last company and I survived 2 layoffs, I kept feeling guilty even though it wasn’t my decision.

Does he plan on getting rid of her? Or moving her to a different position? It doesn’t really matter except to ease your mind. She should know it’s coming. Whenever your boss has to find backup because you’re not doing your job, that’s a big problem. But that’s not what you asked is it? I would keep quiet. I think she probably knows somethings up and she’s probably taking the time off to find another job.

Keep your mouth shut and tell SWRTB to never EVER speak of this again.

And enjoy your new position – you know not to piss off the new boss. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
