Vigorous Anonymity

The Workfriend

Posted on: December 13, 2012

So there’s this woman I work with.  I’ve mentioned her in many posts in the past.  She had a tragic loss of her significant other after 22 years together, and has never fully recovered.  We’ve bec0me pretty good friends over the last 5 years, and I have introduced her to all of my friends who have embraced her and we have done lots of things together as a group.

That said, it is not without drama.  We now work in the same department.  Big Mistake.  I was here first, and my boss decided she was just what we needed here, so he had her transferred to our department against my better yet silent judgment.

We had/have a habit of fighting.  Or rather, SHE has that habit.  I tend to just let stuff wash over me and don’t sweat things that people say and maybe don’t mean.  Or maybe I didn’t interpret right.  Or maybe it was in a text and I don’t even want to try to interpret it.  Not so, Workfriend.  She takes umbrage at everything, and sends me massive texts for hours on end that remind me how horrid I am and how I cannot be redeemed.

That said…she’s lots of fun (doesn’t she sound it???).  We have a great time together, and we have a lot in common, and just enough NOT in common to make things interesting.

Last weekend, she threatened in texts to kill herself due to the above despondency which never leaves her.  She then ignored all of my texts and phone calls for the next 6 hours while I worried and fretted and then, when she finally responded, said she’d been sleeping and hadn’t heard the texts.  I lost my mind and told her never to do that again, and she text-screamed at me for the next 3 hours.  She made some nasty comments about her envisioning me on Facebook telling all our “friend” how awful she was.  In desperation, I unfriended her from Facebook, and turned off the phone.

But we’re back at work, and it’s like it never happened.  It’s so very strange, I don’t know how to proceed.  On the one hand, I want her to just go away and give me back my sanity. On the other, it’s good when we’re not fighting.  And we have to work together.  It’s like being in high school all over again.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • TheQueen: Yeah, perhaps next year suggest you ALL just skip the adult gifts and focus on the little ones. I'm sure you won't miss it!
  • kristabella: Yay! You're back!
  • Shania Ring: Out of all of that, the only thing in my head is 20?!? Twenty? I remember a little boy in middle school when I first started reading you. Are you SURE
